Professor Quigley: Tragedy and Hope 101 primer inquiry

Chalan

Professor Quigley: Tragedy and Hope 101 primer inquiry

Post by Chalan »

I was raised in a family who firmly believed that Communism was the largest evil in the world, and it would ruin humanity if we didn’t dedicate our lives to eradicating it from our world like some cancer. Nothing else seemed to matter quite as much. My parents became John Birchers. We went to rallies and meetings. I joined the Young Americans for Freedom. I CONSUMED years of the Foundation for Economic Education (a Think tank for libertarian monetary and governmental policy positions) pamphlets we got in the mail each month. I was molded into a Staunch Republican - even though my friends and those I cared about, didn’t behave like the templates I studied from F.E.E. - ruthlessness was not really a component of their daily lives. At first I thought they were just under informed and I attempted to educate them on the ways of economy and government - set them straight! However this rarely swayed, and I wound up in pretzels trying to justify my noble, lofty, purely reason driven laissez faire perspective. People all around me said it ‘lacked humanity’.

It took me over 40 years to untangle some of those knots, and I may still be secretly working on others I’ve managed to ensnare myself in during my slow climb to ‘enlightenment/reality’. I would like to thank George W. Bush, and particularly Dick Cheney for finally convincing me that Conservatives/Republicans were completely full of fecal material and must be opposed along with all of their ilk as loudly and consistently as I possibly can, pulling other aware individuals into the fray as best I am able to, on any given day.

"Hello, My name is Mark, and I’m a recovering Republican.
It’s been over twenty years since I’ve imagined that supply side, trickle down economics were a viable method of viewing the distribution of wealth in an equitable manner."