The Ahmaud Arbery case

TexasFilly

The Ahmaud Arbery case

Post by TexasFilly »

I think we need this thread. The "Another Shooting" thread has been around here for years and already has multiple pages of discussion of one case.
I love the poorly educated!!!

Kevin McCarthy: Paul Ryan playing with a head injury -- Jon Lovett

Maybenaut

Re: The Ahmaud Arbery case

Post by Maybenaut »

There’s an Army JAG named Augustus Turner. I don’t know him personally, but some of my JAG friends do. Anyway, he posted a short essay on his Facebook feed about jogging while black. It’s some mighty powerful stuff.
Augustus Turner wrote: I am a black man who jogs.
When I jog, I always do so alone. I am also a Soldier, and a large one at that (about 6’2 240 lbs). This means every few years, I have to move to a completely new suburb, and jog, alone. This means that I, like every Soldier, is used to jogging alone, in new places, where people may not recognize, know, or be familiar with me. I am used to it. My wife is not.
For nearly ten years, Michelle Yeager Turner cautioned me about how I appear when I jog alone. She will not even let me out of the house unless I wear enough colorful and “innocent” clothing so as not to appear suspicious or threatening when I jog. While she has never said it directly, I know that every time I step out the door, she is afraid my appearance alone could get me killed.
Sometimes, in the back of my head, I foolishly think to myself:
I am just a black man who jogs!